Current group members

Anand Yethiraj ayethiraj (at)


Graduate students and Postdoc

Majid Bahraminasr mbahraminasr (at)

Ph.D student


Anas Alhasanat photo

Anas Alhasanat asalhasanat (at)

Ph.D. student (joint with Valerie Booth)

Enzyme-functional nanocolloids

Josipa Cecic-Vidos

Ph.D student with (joint with Josef Hamacek at the University of Orléans, France, and in collaboration with Francesco Piazza at the University of Florence, Italy)

kinetics of the extracellular matrix remodeling enzymes in crowding media

Ashish Joy

Ph.D student

Electric fields and non-equilibrium self-assembly

Jinesh Machale

Postdoc, joint with Lesley James

Particle-laden foams and Enhancing oil recovery with particle-laden foams

Dorcas Akrong

PhD student, joint with Lesley James

Undergraduate students

Victor Borges

B.Sc. honours student

Micro-electrophoresis and fluorescence correlation spectroscopy

Photos, collaborators, past students

Group photo at Cape Spear: was it a foggy day?


  • Sina Heravi, M.Sc. student, Macromolecular crowding effects in disordered proteins, joint with Valerie Booth, 2023.
  • Nishel Alexander, B.Sc. summer researcher from U.PEI, 2023.
  • Yanitza Trosel, PhD (2023). Currently a postdoctoral fellow at Sunnybrook Research Institute, Toronto, Canada.
  • Dillip Mohapatra, postdoc (2023). Current a postdoctoral fellow at TU-Eindhoven, The Netherlands.
  • Anas Alhasanat, M.Sc. thesis (2023). Currently a Ph.D. student in the Soft Materials Lab.
  • Shivani Semwal, Ph.D thesis (2022). Currently an Optics Specialist at Avalon Holographics, St. John’s, NL, Canada.
  • T. R. Venketesh, Ph.D thesis (2022). Currently completing a medical physics certification at Western University, ON, Canada.
  • Harnoor Singh (2021). MUCEP student (python coding).
  • Derrick Earle (2021). MUCEP and summer student (micro-electrophoresis).
  • Erica Short B.Sc. honours (2020), co-supervised with Stefan Wallin. Computer simulations of polyethylene glycol.
  • Zachary Hoyles (2020). MUCEP student (dynamic difference microscopy).
  • Tatsuo Izawa, undergraduate researcher, M.Sc. (2015-2018), stability of salty foams. First, a technician for 4 years in experimental biophysics at Okinawa Institute of Science & Technology., now a Ph.D. student at OIST.
  • Swomitra Palit, Graduate student, Ph.D. (2013 – 2018), macromolecular dynamics in confinement and in crowded environments. Postdoc at Dalhousie U. Now Research, development, and production manager at Alterbiota, bringing soft matter expertise to concrete.
  • Somayeh Khajehpour Tadavani, Graduate student, Ph.D. (2012 – 2018), electrohydrodynamics in oil-in-oil emulsions, currently at Avalon Holographics.
  • Suhad Sbeih, Graduate student, Ph.D. (2013 – 2018), macroscopic and microscopic dynamics of microgel colloids, joint with Mike Morrow, currently Assistant Professor at German Jordanian U.
  • Haruki Hirasawa, undergraduate researcher and B.Sc. honours (2013 – 2016), rodlike colloids. Postdoctoral Fellow at University of Victoria.
  • Zena Aljabal, Graduate student, M.Sc. (2013 – 2016), colloid electrokinetics, dielectric spectroscopy
  • Payam Bagheri, Graduate student, M.Sc. (2011 – 2015), structure and dynamics in polycrystalline colloids, joint with Kris Poduska. Currently Analytics Manager at Dig Insights.
  • Tatsuo Izawa, undergraduate researcher, honours (2013-2014), colloid electrokinetics.
  • Raheema Muhammad Aslam, Visiting Ph.D. student (lab of W. González-Viñas) (2014)
  • Tyler Downey, undergraduate researcher (Summer 2013)
  • Corey Kelly, researcher (summer 2013). Currently doing his PhD at UBC)
  • Edward Hayden, Graduate student, M.Sc., 2013. Currently instructional assistant at MUN
  • Hugh Newman, Graduate student, M.Sc., 2013. Currently product expert at Verafin Inc.
  • Suliman Barhoum, Graduate student, Ph.D. 2008 – 2012, Post-doc. at U. Penn. Current a medical physicist at Dayton Physician’s Network, Ohio.
  • Ian Wilding, Undergraduate research, joint with Kris Poduska and Martin Plumer, 2011 – 2012.
  • Matthew Seymour, Graduate student, joint with Kris Poduska and Martin Plumer,M.Sc., 2009 – 2011, PhD at McGill. Currently a software engineer at Xanadu.
  • Moorthi Pichumani, Visiting PhD (Wenceslao González-Viñas Lab), U. Navarra, 2011 (currently Associate Professor at SREC (Coimbatore), India)
  • Andrew Morrow, B.Sc. honours, joint with Erika Merschrod, 2010 – 2011.
  • Michael Ducey, B.Sc. honours, joint with Mike Morrow, 2010 – 2011, currently in Medical School (MUN).
  • Matthew Mcdonald, Undergraduate research, joint with Luc Beaulieu (2010 – 2011), currently doing his PhD in China?
  • Marek Bromberek, Postdoctoral researcher, joint with Ivan Saika-Voivod, 2009, currently Instructional Assistant at MUN.
  • Edward Hayden, B.Sc. honours (2009 – 2010)
  • Andrew Bartlett, B.Sc. honours, 2008 – 2010, currently Research Engineer at Avalon Holographics
  • Danielle Leonard, Undergraduate research, 2009 – 2010, currently doing her PhD in Oxford.
  • Maximiliano Giuliani, Visiting Ph.D. (lab of W. González-Viñas), 2009 (current post-doc. at Guelph)
  • Corey Kelly, Undergraduate research (2008 – 2009)
  • Amit Agarwal, Post-doctoral researcher, 2007 – 2008, currently Scientific Officer at DRDO (India)
  • Hugh Newman, MUCEP and Summer undergraduate research (2007 – 2008)
  • Manuel Valera, Post-doctoral researcher, joint with Ivan Saika-Voivod, 2008 (currently on faculty at Slippery Rock University)
  • Kitty Kumar, M.Sc. (joint with K. Poduska), 2008 (currently post-doc at Harvard)
  • Swomitra Palit, Graduate student, M.Sc., 2008
  • Ning Li, M.Sc., 2006 – 2008, Ph.D. at Brandeis (currently Sr. Director, Data Science at AbleTo Inc.)
  • Joshua Abeling, MUCEP undergraduate research, 2007 – 2008.
  • Gregory Morrow, MUCEP undergraduate research, 2007.
  • Joe Fitzgerald, NSERC Summer and MUCEP researcher, 2006. Currently a postdoctoral researcher at Caltech.
  • Cristina Arcos Martinez, Visiting graduate student, 2006, from the group of Wenceslao González-Viñas